Crabs

We always went out to eat on Fridays, and the meals were great. One of her favorite restaurants was Rabo’s Baked Meat, run by a bearded Armenian guy. The guy’s father was called Rabo and he set up the place when he came over from the old country. But I digress.

When at Rabo’s, we ordered our favorites: Baked Squirrel for me and Crab Delight for her. Mind you, there was no real squirrel in the dish, it was only called Squirrel. It was beef, I think, but the waiter would never tell us. Part of the charm, I guess.

Now, for the Crab Delight, I am not sure. It had a distinct sea-foody or fish-foody taste, and it was small chunks of white meat. But it wasn’t like those imitation crab meat sticks, it had more texture.

Then I got into reading Lovecraft, and I noticed certain hints at Lovecraftian lore in the restaurant, like the wonky pentagram with the eye in the center, the squid mounted on the wall, or the ceiling painted in constellations. Were they actual constellations we can see in the sky? I don’t know anything about stars, so no. They might have just been stars painted on the ceiling by a guy ordered to paint stars, no plan other than bright spots on a dark background. Or they might have been the stars you would see from an alien world, far, far away. Wouldn’t that be cool?

Wouldn’t it be cool if the meat…


Posted

in

by

Tags:

Comments

Leave a comment